Buy a motorcycle license on your Connecticut driver’s license. In the United States and Connecticut in particular, motorcycle registrations continue to rise every year. Statistics shows that the number of people sicking to own a motorcycle license has grown over the pass decade. In 2018, there were close to 10.5 million motorcycles registered in the United States. By 2020, motorcycle registrations rose to 13.4 million. The State of Connecticut ranks 30 in motorcycle registrations, with 100,960 motorcycles registered.
The one thing to bear in mind is that unlike certain other states, Connecticut doesn’t offer a separate credential for operating a motorcycle. Rather, it adds a motorcycle endorsement to your regular driver’s license. get connecticut motorcycle license
Till 2020 motorcycle ownership and the demand for a motocycle license had continued to rise, there are certain laws and safety tips you should take into consideration. If you are planning to get a motorcycle in Connecticut, here are some things you should know prior to making a demand. Buy a motorcycle license
Motorcycle License Requirements
If you want to apply for a motorcycle license in Connecticut, You will need:
Proof of owning a valid Connecticut driver’s license.
A notarized Certificate of Parental Consent (Form 2D), if under 18 years old. This form can only be signed by a parent, legal guardian, or a spouse over 18 years old.
A completed Non-Commercial Drivers License application(Form R-229).
Payment to cover testing fee for motorcycle vision and knowledge tests.
Payment to cover permit fee. You may also have to pay a $5 mailing fee.
Applying for your driver License with a Motorcycle Permit
If you already hold a motorcycle permit, we’ll need to apply for your license by using a full-service DMV office. Be sure to bring your motorcycle permit, your regular driver’s license, and your certificate of completion from a DMV-approved motorcycle safety training course. Once you submit the application, the DMV will add an “M” endorsement to your regular license without any additional cost.
In addition to the above, you will need to pay a $40 fee to cover the required motorcycle vision and knowledge tests. The knowledge test consists of a 16 question multiple-choice exam. The test is based on the Connecticut Motorcycle Manual and the Connecticut Driver’s Manual – to give yourself the best chance of success, be sure to read through the manuals beforehand. To pass the vision test, you’ll need to have at least 20/40 vision with or without corrective lenses. You’ll also need to have a peripheral vision of at least 140 degrees.
Anyone 18 years old or older issued a motorcycle license is not allowed to transport passengers for the first 90 days of driving. New motorcycle drivers 16 to 17 years old are not allowed to carry passengers for the first 6 months. Getting a Connecticut License
Apply for Connecticut driver’s license as a New Residents
If you are a new resident of Connecticut with an out-of-state motorcycle license, you can apply to transfer it to a Connecticut license. As ct.gov notes, this will need to be done within 30 days of obtaining Connecticut residency. To complete the process, you’ll need to visit a DMV office with the following documents: Buy a motorcycle license
• Your current driver’s license
• Completed Application for a Non-Commercial Driver’s License
• Proof of Identity
• Proof of SSN
• Proof of Connecticut residency
• Proof of legal presence in the U.S.
Buy a Motorcycle License
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC